1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jeffex, Jan 31, 2008.

1. jeffex

jeffex LawnSite Bronze Member

Are you the type to network with another LCO or other related service? believe me I have been burned trusting people, but I still think its possible. I've been stabbed in the back several times but to no real consequence but I have had some great networking experiences to offset them. Referals from people I helped get started to guys who heard about me and like my work. I helped a guy sell his business on the promise of a commission and got stiffed . Countless #s of chumps tried to steal my customers that I referred to for other services. I'm still here and they are gone. Honesty, and trustworthyness pay in the long run. What has been your experience.
  2. meets1

meets1 LawnSite Gold Member

Used to but no. Everytime we talk and others talk - come spring time there hitting my accounts, lowering price, bottom line, bare bones the price and then the places look like crap and go talk to manager man - he tells we get what we pay for. I do network with one large landscape company but work goes both ways. Mowen guys - nope! Learned that lesson a long time ago. Snow removal, some of us talk and check rates - if were at $100 / hour and your charging $65 - we all agree you need to go up, if your client calls, were charging $110 and your getting a deal for $95 type of thing.

DTA - Don't trust anyone!
  3. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic