Never had a real vacation ('til now)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnspecialties, Dec 15, 2005.

1. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

OK, here's the deal. I'm a local firefighter with a pretty successful lawn care business on the side. I've been in the business since 1999. Next month, we're hauling the travel trailer to Disney for nine days. I've never really took a vacation (more than 3-4 days) since doing lawn care. I do all the work myself and certainly couldn't leave during the summer. Do I inform my customers of my absence or not. Here in NC, January is the time you sometimes pull up to an account and just drive off. Often it looks like I had just left the place. The leaves are gone and the grass and shrubs are just laying there. Some customers won't care but you never know if someone will want to know why they got billed for the full month. Sometimes what they don't know won't hurt them.:nono:

2. DLCS

DLCS LawnSite Platinum Member

I say take your vacation and enjoy. Your customers will not miss you in January for one week. Sometimes you just have to get away, I'm sure most of your customers will understand but I would not tell them.

3. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

That all depends on you. If you think this might bother you WHILE you are your vacation, you might want to talk with them. Why are they being billed in the winter for nothing anyway? Did you figure up their total about of cuts and divide by 12 to come up with a monthly invoice amount? Also, when you do visit, it's just normally just pull up the house and leave.....I personally don't think they will miss you.

4. lawnspecialties

Thanks to you both. Yes walker, they are billed monthly with everything (cutting, fert., overseeding, aerating, etc.) included in the price.