Never imagined insurance would be my biggest obstical!

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by mrusk, Mar 24, 2005.

1. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

Well i am 18, almost 19, and this is my first year in the business. I have been calling around trying to get insurance before the season starts in 2 weeks. All anyone tells me is that it is going to be outragous because of my age. They tell me to just cut grass and not to do any hardscapes. I make all my money doing pavers and walls, i would hate to not be able to do them because of insurance. I also wanted insurance to cover carpentry, such as decks, arbors, polebarns, pool house, and inteior work. They told me i can't touch insurance for that for under 10k.

I do not have ambitions to be a landscaper. I want to be a general contractor. I love building. However do to my age, i figured it would be best to build a realationships with people by just mowing their lawns, and then tell them about the other work i do, and adventually just sent a crew or two out and mow only the most proftiable lawns.

Also, the agent told me that hardscape insurance is the same as insurance for a mason. Does that sound right?

This whole insurance thing really brings me down. I am capable of doing so much, i would just hate to limit myself do to insurance cost.

Matt

2. marko

marko LawnSite Senior Member

Try several independant agents. I had ranges from $357 - $1200/yr. Not the age that's killing you as much as your experience. E&O is based on experience as well as the job you are performing.

3. utterway landscaper

utterway landscaper LawnSite Member