New and wanting advice!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Cimarron Landscape, May 15, 2005.

1. Cimarron Landscape

Cimarron Landscape LawnSite Member

Hi
    First post here on the forum.
    I'm starting up a lawn business here in central Texas, I've been mowing lawns for 4 years, but now it's time to get serious. I've looked at different mowers on and off, but don't know exactly what to look for.
    I'll be mowing 1/4-3/4 acre yards, with the majority being 1/2 acre. I need some advice regarding what brand mower to go with. I'm leaning towards Exmark, but don't know for sure. I'm looking for a midsize walkbehind that I can use a sulky with, preferebly hydraulic drive. What price range am I looking at? Is this a bad idea for a new business? What size deck do you reccomend? Basically I would like to glean from the advice of you that have been doing this for a long time, and learn the best way to start, so I don't fall flat on my face :rolleyes: .
    Thanks for your time.
    ~Brian
    BTW, Searched on this, couldn't find much.

2. Cimarron Landscape

oops, didn't realize there was a section for us newbies :blush: Thanks Mods! :)
    ~Brian

3. Toy2

Toy2 LawnSite Bronze Member

Toro and Exmark are made by the same company....I got a 36" Toro WB, belt drive, paid 2300.00 new...it does what it needs to...I really should have picked up a 34 Rider for what I have....but I did not have my yards lined up first....welcome to LawnSite...it has great info..

4. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Cimarron- Best thing as far as equipment choice is to demo different mowers from a dealer. Most dealers carry only certain brands of equipment...you'll probably want to deal with someone close to you, don't want to drive 2 hours to pick up parts or for repairs. Asking what brands are best, you'll get a million different opinions, better to try some out for yourself.