1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New Backhoe owner operator in NJ

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by saxman150, Feb 20, 2006.

1. saxman150

saxman150 LawnSite Member

I am a computer professional and musician. Over the last three years due to my time limitations I couldn't focus on long term projects because my music business has taken me away for weeks at a time. So I have been performing three to four days per week and doing computers on a very part time basis. The competition is very high. I have done swimming pool installation, sprinkler installation and construction in the past to suppliment my income.
    I have always been interested in owning a vehicle either for plowing, digging or moving dirt. I purchase a book from Vista on The backhoe. I want to learn to operate the backhoe and work on a per job basis according to my schedule. I want to learn the business then purchase a machine. I want to know how I can learn to operate either a Cat or Bob cat backhoe. I also want to know which one is better for my needs, easier to transport etc. I want to know insurance and problem issues. Lastly who can I learn from or work for to get up to speed on a part time basis. Should I hook up with landscapers, construction people or private. My goal is to market myself and when someone calls me I do the job. I want to be able to take the work as needed. Thanks for your help this is a neat site and I am looking forward to direction.
  2. Signature Landscaping1

Signature Landscaping1 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mass

Deffinatly a CAT
  3. godzilla

godzilla LawnSite Senior Member