New Business, Scag Mowers?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Loggerhead, Feb 25, 2007.

1. Loggerhead

Loggerhead LawnSite Member

Hello

I am a newbie looking to cut some lawns here in Florida. I am looking at a 2004 Scag 52 Turf Tiger with a 23hp Kawasaki LC and the Advantage deck. I have read and heard these are great mowers. This mower was homeowner used and only has 115 hours on it. The guy wants $6000 which sounds like
    a good price for a like new mower of this caliber. Any info would be appreciated.

Just wondering but Scag uses a dive shaft instead of belts to power the blades I think. What if you hit something like a root or whatever, does it tear up the drive train????

Thanks in advance.

2. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE LawnSite Bronze Member

Sounds like a fair price,it would work for me another 52 inch cut as for the drive shaft very seldom you will have trouble i have hit stuff hard and it will bend a blade.

3. bigcountry01

bigcountry01 LawnSite Member

sounds like a pretty decent deal since it has low hours on it but i would go with exmark. just my oppinion. Scag makes good mowers but i just perfer exmark. you should atleast go look at them and check out your options.

4. Loggerhead