New Business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Jsun2254, Jul 13, 2006.

1. Jsun2254

Jsun2254 LawnSite Member

Hey Guys,
    I am a recent college grad and am thinking about starting a landscaping company. While in college I worked for a company for three years. I am wanting to come into it this fall with aeration/seeding and leaf removal I am located in NC and winter is not that rough. I am trying to get a loan through the bank right now for 20-25 K. I am going to lease a used dodge quad cab and finance the mower prob Exmark Navigator (for leave removal as well). I am wanting to focus on residential clients. South of my town on the lake wealthy communities are popping up like crazy, I mean seemingly over night. I am in the process of getting liscensed to spray herbicide and pesticide this spring and hope to really take over that industry in my area as not too many lanscapers are doing that. Any advice from some seasoned veterans. ALso is this a good idea, my parents are really kind of against this because of the risk, they are really old school though. I just dont want to look back in 10 years and say what if. I really have a passion for this line of work and am really motivated.

2. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Go to Sharpes They have everything you will need. You are 3 weeks to late as I just sold most of my stuff.
    You are right about the growth. and I would work down here too.
    Just get good at it before you shop the Point:)
    I will be happy to meet you and talk -- or even intro you to Sharpes.
    As you will be making money soon you will need a house to live in so I will help with that too:) :) :)

What is your degree in -- Money to be made here but also others ways too.
    Running a business is not as easy as it sounds. Hope I can help.

3. jazak

jazak LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ