new comer entry fee

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by 321birdguy, Aug 30, 2014.

1. 321birdguy

321birdguy LawnSite Senior Member

i just lost a bid the outer guy was 5$ cheeper than me yard was a mess kids toys every ware trash piles dog tyout ... it is not the type of yard i would like to mow the lower guy bid it at 25$ i was in at 30$
    he ors not have liability insurance i do have it
    i just started my business this spring have ben wanting to start for a long time years
    i wish there was some kind of entry fee like required to have liability insurance
    i see a few people who go to there local home store but a homeowner mower and try and find grass to mow i know those mowers won't last and they lack greece fittings...hec some put the mower in the back of there truck that looks like it ben to ww2 and back i have a decent looking truck a 2012 and all most every outer trade requires a license i do electric work for a living grass on the side would like to do grass full time some stater require a journeyman license to be able to work fore someone else dowing electric wh isn't there any kind of license to mow grass? and a test to be able to mow for money? like some basic dot laws, osha laws, common scents stuff and recognizing hazards and avoiding them and a little about mowing grass like when to cut why cut it at a certain height, why not to blow grass in storm drains,( i did see a city put a ban on that), etc... i would like to see a entry license and have 1 year in the field 12 months not one summer or growing season for me to do electric it takes a lot less money in tools and all to work and a license in one neighboring state but boss has master license
    why is there nothing for landscaping license wise?
  2. inzane

inzane LawnSite Silver Member

so how do you know he doesn't have insurance? because he has an old truck? My brain is now hurting from trying to read your entire post.
  3. 321birdguy