New Commercial Lead

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by spriallen, May 2, 2007.

1. spriallen

spriallen LawnSite Member

I have a new resturant that just opened in my town and my sister works there. The owner is looking for a bid from me, but I have never done commercial work before and I don't know how to price the job. Do I price it like I would residential or is it higher? There is not much grass, but it has alot of hedges that need shaped, also 3 or 4 small trees. Could someone please help me?

2. prosperity

prosperity LawnSite Member

Price it so you make some money - but don't overdo it....I guess what I am saying is take a good look at everything, and use your residential bidding experience and bid accordingly.

Keep in mind for a restaurant - might be a little more time consuming as you have to make sure you don't get any grass/debris on any parked cars, and you have to be sure to do a good cleanup afterward (blowing off all pavement). And, with the hedges, you'll have to haul the debris away.

Don't be afraid of commercial bids - I like doing commercials myself.

Oh - and don't forget they may ask for an insurance certificate to prove your liability insurance.

3. spriallen

I'm giong try and expand to doing commercial account, and if this one goes good I would like to find more of them. But, I don't know how to find them; do you just start approaching the business' or do you just send them a letter of interest in having them as a customer?

4. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

A lot of commericial are got just like you got to bid on this one....got to get to know all the right people, it takes time. These resturants are good because they constantly change stuff....need flowers, a new foot path, irrigation changes, but the problem is you have to be available almost immediately.

5. spriallen