New construction...no grass

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Imtheprez, May 19, 2008.

1. Imtheprez

Imtheprez LawnSite Member

I have a lot that is in a new subdivision, and the grass is dead in some areas or not even growing in some either. I want thick dark grass. I live in TN, so should I overseed now or wait til fall? Or just put sod down?

2. shovelracer

shovelracer LawnSite Silver Member

fall is better cause of less competition from weeds and such. This gives you time to find out if the soil needs anything and kill off your existing grass. Odds are they just threw down a contractor mix to get the CO now its your problem.

3. Smallaxe

Smallaxe LawnSite Fanatic

What kind of "soil" were you left with after the construction?
    Overseeding on bad ground is not going to improve anything. Spend the summer fixing the soil then reseed in the fall.

4. Imtheprez

Imtheprez LawnSite Member

sorry for the dumb questions but im new to this whole thing....but where should i start? Ill wait til fall before I overseed, but do I need to rake over the yard before seeding? Can you recommend any seed?

5. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

I live just up from you in Kingsport and in SC. Here's what we do. Firstly, Have you smoothed out the rough grade? If not you may have to hire that done with a tractor and a thing called a "Harley Rake". Then you rake off any and all debris using a large tooth rake. Go by Lowes and look. They have a wide one that I like. Take your time and level any dips. Yard should look smooth and contoured. Now think irrigation. Inground rotors and sprayheads set up on a controller with automatic valves is the only way. Even if you do not use any rotors, I'd lay in some 1" PVC from your water source so that you can at least put some hoses with portable impact sprinklers. Your new grass will need a lot of water.