New Contruction / Advise??

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by LawnMedic904, Sep 12, 2007.

1. LawnMedic904

LawnMedic904 LawnSite Member

I have been approached to do an install for a new construction and would like any advise from the guru's. I'm still fairly new to this and have never done a new construction. I have put in a few "dinky systems" and a few repairs this season (my first) and feel pretty comfrotable with it. However, this system will be for someone I work with and I'm a little concerned. First, this guy is somewhat of a tighta$$, when he showed me some hand drawings of the site and asked for a quote I told him I need more info for any type of estimate. He presested so I gave. Just looking at the drawing, i GUSSED (which is never a good idea) that he would need 2-3 rotar zones, 2-3 sprays 2 maybe 3 drip zones. Brining the total to possible 9 zones.

The going rate for this area is $650/zone plus parts. I also told him that I have a rock clause in the contract that he would be resonsible for. There is NO way to pull poly in my neck of the woods. Because I know him I quoted 3-4k but without all the data i could not be sure. I know this is WELL below the going rate. I don't like to think of this as low-balling, as he is in a new neighborhood and I'm trying to drum up more business. Anyhoo, he looked at me like I slapped him. After a bite he said OK, nothing final yet.

He asked me if i needed anything spec'd in to help with installation. As stated above, i've never done NEW so what might be some things I could ask for (ie sleeves under drive, wire routing, etc). And what are some things that might come back to haught me??

I appriciate any advise, and thanks in advance.

2. LawnMedic904

Also, I don't plan on cheating him, I plan on giving him a quality system, so please don't ripe me too hard.

3. jimmyburg

jimmyburg LawnSite Senior Member