1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New Exmark Belt Drive Question

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by burkcs, Sep 8, 2007.

1. burkcs

burkcs LawnSite Member

I just purchased a 2006 48" Exmark Metro HP (belt drive). This is my first time behind a walk behind so I am still in a learning curve. I have a few questions after mowing my personal lawn a few times with it?

1. The mower looses control when going down a hill. It's like you just put the mower in neutral. Is this normal? I would think being a gear drive the gears would control the down hill speed to a certain degree. I have to use the brakes or the mower will go completely out of control. This is a problem. When I use the brakes to go down a hill the the wheels slide and I loose my straight line not to mention the safety factor.

2. I bought a Pro One Sulky for the mower(Its a 2 wheel sulky). How does one suspend it up behind the mower to allow walking behind the mower? It came with a cable but I can not figure out how to lift the sulky up to suspend it with the cable. It has to be able to turn/tilt/or fold to get it out of your way. The generic instructions do not detail how this is performed.

3. Scalping is a slight problem. When I get into a swell or when I mow side ways on a hill the side of the deck will scalp the lawn. I know this will be a learning curve but if you can provide some pointers I can use I would be greatful.