new eXmark!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mikeklein, Jun 22, 2002.

1. mikeklein

mikeklein LawnSite Member

Picked up my new 48" metro today,cuts like a dream!I am using a 6X10 open trailer being pulled by a mazda 4cyl.It does alright for now until I can afford that new F250 diesel.I am not very good at manuvering the trailer though.I am terrible at backing it up.Any tips?I friend told me just steer in the opposite direction you want the trailer to go,but that doesnt always work.Alot of my accounts are in narrow street suburbs,where alot of times you cant find room to park even a truck.My only idea was to put a velke on the mower,park the truck@trailer in a suitable spot and drive the mower to the home!I am seriously thinking about a LWB flat bed trck with ramps.I guess i just need practice with the trailer.
  2. Phishook

Phishook LawnSite Bronze Member

:dizzy: :dizzy: It's always a treat to watch someone back a small trailer up. Double axle's are much easier.
  3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

It takes a little time to learn and be confident about backing up a trailer. My first trailer was a 4X8 behind a 4 cylinder Chevy S-10 and it could be a doosy to back up. Just be carefull and take your time.
  4. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

The shorter the trailer the more interesting it becomes. Keep practicing, you'll get it.
  5. wriken

wriken LawnSite Silver Member

A longer trailer is alot easier to back up then a short one. do you use your mirrows, or look out the back window. easier to look out the back window, just the pro truckers will laugh at you, but who cares better than wrecking the back of your truck, LOL
  6. dfor

dfor LawnSite Senior Member

You will eventually get the hang of it. Like the others said, small trailers aren't easy and practice. It will become second nature. When I back up without the trailer, I will sometimes turn the wheel as if the trailer is there.
  7. Tony Harrell

Tony Harrell LawnSite Senior Member