1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New Fescue lawn has several yellow patches. Help

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by ShawnDH, Jun 4, 2005.

1. ShawnDH

ShawnDH LawnSite Member

I just had some Tall Fescue (Millennium) sod laid last Saturday. It looked great when it was first laid. We had cool weather and it rained all week long and today was the first day that it didn't rain and the sun actually came out (85 deg). Well, now it has several yellow patches and I'm afraid I'm going to loose the lawn. I live in Atlanta GA area and we have a lot of clay. I had the yard tilled, the PH levels were btwn 6 & 7. I'm concerned that the installers choose not to put down starter fertilizer though. I'm really new at this, and I'm just trying to look for some direction on what to do. I don't know if it got too much rain or too little. Some small patches are actually dead but most of the lawn is still green the way it was when it was laid, but it hasn't seemed to grow.

I know it's difficult to diagnose a lawn without seeing it but, does anyone have any suggestions on what I could do or look for?
  2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

I cut about 700 yards/year total, this year I have 50 grass accounts so it will likely be closer to 1000. Now to me, cutting frequency AND height-of-cut is crucial.

I would imagine it is pretty hot down there when it doesn't rain... I'm in Richmond VA, it gets toasty around July.