New guy and wondering what to buy??HELP

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bettergrass, May 6, 2004.

1. bettergrass

bettergrass LawnSite Member

I have been cutting grass threw the neighborhood for 3 years now just using a regular home lawn tractor and ive maintained 8 customers. Since i pulled in 4k last year just doing this on the side ive been motivated to start up a commercial company. I have a few questions for some of the professionals on this site.

First I have to buy a commercial mower cause obviously i cant be cutting all these lawns with my JD tractor. I have been looking at just about everything... and the closest dealer to my house sells gravley. How does everyone feel about them? Im also looking at ExMark and Scag just cause thats what i see the guys who come and cut the houses near me using. But mainly im looking for a 36' walk behind of some sort and obviosly want to get the best bang for my buck.

Next what all do i need to become official:

i know i need to buy insurance and not really sure who i need to go to, to get that so i need help there

Need to go get a business license from the goverment building near me

and thats all i know of right now.

Please help me i will greatly appreciate it

2. Zach76

Zach76 LawnSite Member

Hi Brandyn. First of all, welcome to Lawnsite. Most guys here could throw a million ideas your way, but if you tell us what kind of budget do you have to work with those ideas will be more fit to your situation. The best advice I can give you is to add Lawnsite to your favorites and visit/read/ask questions often. This place is a wealth of information.

3. bettergrass

my budget for a mower is $3500 max right now and would rather not hit that.... I have a truck and already working on trailers and such

4. kc2006

kc2006 LawnSite Silver Member