New guy seeking help!

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by ATX3HUNNID, Jun 21, 2008.

1. ATX3HUNNID

ATX3HUNNID LawnSite Member

Ok first of all Im no professional and I apologize in advance if I came to the wrong site. Im just seeking help from a real professional, and not some kid at Home Depot. I just move into my home and i believe bermuda sod was planted before we moved in. It was nice and green when we moved in but now its starting to die. I just got cable and the day after installation I had a long dead strip of grass from the side of my house running out towards those little energy boxes by the sidewalk (please forgive my uneducated descriptions).
    It's also starting to die everywhere, i water it weekly but it just doesn't help. I was thinking of throwing some fert on it tonight but I dont know which one to use. Im in Austin TX so its hotter than a jabanero pepper out here. I was told by a guy at home depot to start with Scotts Starter Fertilizer. Will this liven up my lawn or is there something else that will get it going?
    I thank you all in advance. I plan on doing this tonight so a quick response will be greatly appreciated!

2. ATX3HUNNID

Wow tough crowd...

3. treegal1

treegal1 LawnSite Gold Member

compost and some Scott's organic choice fert, you want to increase the soils organic mater.

try the organic forum, we are a little more helpful

4. ATX3HUNNID

Thanks, I was thinking since I didnt post this in the homeowners section, no one gave to craps about my post. Where can I get this organic fert?

5. treegal1

HD or some other home store, you can also use ringer or natural base, it just depends on what they got.

go check out the organic forum, you will love it. growing grass sustainably with less inputs will also make a nicer lawn and a safer one for your
    family.

6. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC