1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New guy with questions

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by GonHuntin, May 9, 2010.

1. GonHuntin

GonHuntin LawnSite Member

I have been mowing for 19 years with an International 234 (mitsubishi) diesel tractor and a 5 foot finishing mower.......I put siding on my house 2 summers ago and, despite being as careful as I possibly can, I have managed to put several holes through it from small rocks/ sticks thrown by the mower. Yesterday, I put another hole in the siding and I've had enough!

Today I went to look at Hustler and BadBoy mowers, next week, I'll look at other dealers in the area )Tulsa, OK) and see what Kubota, Dixie Chopper, Ferris and a few other have to offer. Whatever I buy will be diesel powered and, from what I saw today, the BadBoy compact diesel will be tough to beat for features, toughness and price.

I need something that will stop the damage to the siding.......I thought about a rear discharge mower, but the dealer suggested a mulching set up??? He admitted he has never done the mulching set-up on the BadBoy, but was certain it would do what I wanted.......I prefer first hand experience over speculation, so I thought I'd ask here! What is your opinion of a mulching set-up for normal use??? I mow about 3 acres and it is mostly flat with lots of trees.......the grass/weeds are whatever feels like growing :rolleyes: and it would be a HUGE bonus if the mulching set-up would take care of the leaf problem I deal with each fall too???

So, how good are the mulchers these days??? Do they really mulch well enough to take care of dead oak leaves?

Any other suggestions/advice/comments??

Thanks, Mark
  2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic