New house, yard is jacked up.. suggestions? (pics)

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by flashsplat, Jun 19, 2010.

1. flashsplat

flashsplat LawnSite Member

My wife and I bought this house about a year and a half ago, and now that we've got most of the internal stuff fixed up, I'd like to work on the yard.

From the door of my house looking out.. it looks like it's going to be a lot of work. Can you look at these pictures and tell me what the cheapest, yet most cost effective method would be to make this grass green and luscious? We've got 16k sqr ft. of this crap :p - and we don't have a whole lot of money to invest into the project. Thanks!

I do notice that it is extremely dry. Currently, i don't water it. I figure there's no point at the moment. I do plan to install an automatic sprinkler system though I am a total noob in that department as well. I just hear that can help me with that.

Basically what i want to know is if this yard is recoverable or if i'm going to have to til it, and plant all new seed or something.

Any help/Advice would be great and greatly appreciated.. Thanks!
  2. agm

agm LawnSite Member
    from NM

ReSod is probably going to be your best option
  3. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member

put your irrigation in first then worry about the lawn
  4. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

Those trees on the corners are getting too big. Plan to get rid of them in next year or two. Grass mainly needs water and fertilizer.
  5. fastpine

fastpine LawnSite Member

All that needs to be torn out, or tilled in along with organic ammendments,,,Re seed to save dough,,SOd will be more labor intensive an cost more,,,but it will appeal to your instant gratifacation side,,,
  6. 1966vette

1966vette LawnSite Member

You need a new lawn!

1. Spray roundup Aug 1st & Aug 15th – to make sure all the weeds are dead
    2. Water yard heavy last week in Aug to allow for easier tilling or plugging.