New Hustler

Discussion in 'Hustler Turf Equip (Archived)' started by yote, May 6, 2005.

1. yote

yote LawnSite Member

My new Huster is supposed to be delivered to my home today.

I've done a lot of research and was at first considering all brands including Hustler, Dixie Chopper, Bob Cat, Grasshopper and Exmark. Since I'm not a pro and only intend on cutting my 4 acres with it any of them would probably do the job for me, but one thing I noticed is the level of customer support people in this forum receive. Any mower will have problems, but it seems that the folks here that have had problems have gotten extremely good customer support from mowerconsultant as well as their local dealers. I must say after talking to dealers for all of the brands mentioned above, the Hustler dealer really put my mind at ease and was the most willing to work with me to find exactly what I wanted.

I ended up with a Hustler Z with the 27 HP Kohler and a 60" deck. This machine may be overkill for what a lot of folks would want for regular homeowner use, but with my job I sometimes have to go two weeks without mowing so I wanted something that would put the smack down on the grass.

2 small things for mowerconsultant... (getting a little ahead of myself since I haven't mowed with it yet, but....)

1. The documentation lists the torque for the 27 HP Kohler as 32.7 ft lbs...shouldn't that be 42.7?
    2. The unit I'm getting has the old style deck. The dealer is going to cut the deck to match the new specs, but suggested I leave the blades as is. Is it possible the old style deck already has the correct spacers and blades? Is there an easy way to tell by looking or should I just mow with it and see what happens?

I'll update after I've mowed with it to give my opinion on it. I have about 10" of tall fescue to break it in with since I haven't mowed in 2 weeks!

yote

2. Tider6972

Tider6972 LawnSite Senior Member
    from Alabama

Excellent choice !