new in bussiness

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by campo, Nov 11, 2006.

1. campo

campo LawnSite Member

I am new in the lawn bussiness < but been snow plowing for over 35 yrs. now alot of my new customers want me to mow there lawns, I JUST DID A JOB the lot size 1 acre but they just wanted the front mowed and cleaned up house was vacant 4 months bad looking !! did the weed wacking removed ground cover wher mulch was supposed,weeds every were , It took 7 hrs 2 men , woman called sis it never looked so nice still have alot of wok there, What do you guys charge for a first time clean up I know its hard to say because of diff. regions just like snow plowing ! I was thinking Like 120.00 or am i to low ??? she wan`ts the whole place done every 2 wks. in the spring !! Thanks Campo!!! could use some help need to bill her today ???:confused: :drinkup:

2. djsp24

djsp24 LawnSite Member

120.00 may or may not be a bad price, how long is it going to take you to complete the work? Usually a 1 acre cut, trim, blow off in my area is around 55-60. So if your doubling that for a little clean up time and just doing the front? You might be inline with your pricing, besides, if it turns into a regular account it might be worth it to do a little more the first time around.

3. Classified

Classified LawnSite Senior Member

if your saying $120 total then yes its low but $120 hour, is on the high side. Charge an hourly rate for those 7 hours.

4. d&rlawncare

d&rlawncare LawnSite Senior Member

No way I would touch a 2 man 7 hour job for $120.

Thats 8.57 an hour.:hammerhead: (2 men times 14 hours total /$120.00)

You will get alot of Biz @ that rate.

My price would be from $400-625 depending on what all had to be done.....and what equipment I had to use.

5. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member