New Lawn just isn't right

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Willofalltrades, May 1, 2006.

1. Willofalltrades

Willofalltrades LawnSite Bronze Member

Here are pictures from a lawn that went in last fall. It didn't really come out that good. The guy that installed it put tall fescue down and used straw. What would you recogmend is the best way to make this a nice green, full lawn? I am new to this type of work. I used to only cut grass for a local company, not grow it. Any help is appreciated.

Will's pics 109.jpg

Will's pics 110.jpg

Will's pics 115.jpg

Will's pics 113.jpg

Will's pics 114.jpg

2. mr mow

mr mow LawnSite Senior Member

im sort of new as well, used to just mow for someone else, but have ask a similar question before just no pics. what i was proposing was rake up the straw, aerate, seed , starter fert, and water 2* daily. that sounded like a good idea to other members. sheshovel or 6' 330# either one of you agree cause this is a problem that you responded to. thought i might be on the right track.

3. mr mow

is that leftover straw though, looks like dirt. i would think the same process though minus the raking of straw

4. Willofalltrades

It is a mixture of left over straw and clay like dirt. The first pic makes it look more rich than it really is. I cut what was green today and as I was making my passes I realized that this will be a big project for me. The guy that installed it told me to put grass seed down and cover with some sorta stuff but I would have to do that to the whole yard. What about overseeding?

5. mr mow