New member here

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by NJFPPO, Jan 5, 2004.

1. NJFPPO

NJFPPO LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

:waving:

Hello everyone I'm happy to find a website like this. I'm new at this so sorry about the new business questions. I have a bid I'm working on, and am stumped on how to charge for fertilizing. There is about 9.5 acres of flat land. I've seen on this site where they charge per sq. ft. , but did not know if there was a certain charge for arces. Another thing I figured $40 pre arce for mowing. There is quite a few companies around here, and this job is a big one for me. Not to mention it is within 2 miles of my shop. Should I lower my price to get the job?

Thanks your response ia appreciated,
    Nick

2. Metro Lawn

Metro Lawn LawnSite Silver Member

$40.00 an acre is pretty cheap. I wouldn't go lower. As far as the fert goes. You have to figure your cost. Say you are using a Lesco fert. 50# bag covers 12,500 sq ft. almost 4 bags for an acre. $60 per acre in product. (Pre-M is much higher) I use to get about $150 an acre on large jobs.

3. John B Laidlaw

John B Laidlaw LawnSite Member