New one

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by regnort, Nov 29, 2002.

1. regnort

regnort LawnSite Member

Well I have run up on one I have no experience with and have never seen anyone mention it here. I got an inquiry to cut on a Super Fund site. It is an abandoned apartment complex that was built on top of a waste site. It is just cutting every 14 days until the EPA approves the three final phases of the remediation plan which will probably take about three yearsto get approved. Anyway the money is right and the guy in charge of the property asked me to do this because I have experience working with haz-mats and on uncontrolled waste sites. I guess its a good thing my Lesco is already green otherwise I might be in trouble.
    I hope I don't end up looking like one of these guys when the contracts up. :blob2: :alien: :dizzy:

2. bob

bob LawnSite Platinum Member
    from DE

If you cut those sites, would your equipment have to be dedicated for that job or just cleaned after each cut?

3. regnort

regnort LawnSite Member

In this case it doesn't require any special clean up, the property has already undergone a good deal of remediation. The problem is it just wasn't sufficient and is going to require tearing down the complex. The contaminants are tar, pesticides, and spent solvents but they are all below 3 ft in the areas that are grass. I would probably pass on it if there were any chance of an exposure. The reason the prop manager asked me about it is to cover his behind if the state or feds were to audit his records and gig him for allowing untrained people to work at the site. They are pretty strict about entry into these places.

4. Darryl G

Darryl G LawnSite Fanatic