1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

new or used truck

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by bdemir, Nov 18, 2000.

1. bdemir

bdemir LawnSite Senior Member

I am fairly new to plowing. Last year i plowed for a company owned by brickman. They paid 5000. For five months. A 1000. a month unconditionally whether plow or not plow. Well i plowed five times and made 5000.
    It was pretty good for the first time plowing. I didnt want to plow for my self at first because of my old equipment. I was scared and did not know what to expect. Now again i am scared of my equipment and dont want to put any customers on the line. My question is should i go out and buy a new truck and settle my worries and be done with it. Or should i take the old truck and use it anyways and take the risk of breakdown and problems. The truck works but the front joints do not turn well when in four wheel drive. The truck is an old gmc dually flatbed. The motor is loud due to the three speed and it needs muffler work and the floor boards are rusty and its hard to plow residential with a dually(i found out last year). I also want to look good and the truck feels to loud and not to impressive from the image standpoint. Should i use this truck as a backup and buy a new one and go and get my customers lined up or use the old one and take the higher risk of break down and do that to all my lawn customers.
  2. diggerman

diggerman LawnSite Senior Member
    from Iowa

Go buy a QUALITY used truck,the size and transmission make your one ton a poor truck for plowing.I ton duellies are fairly easy to unload especially if it is 4x4 and you should be able to pay of a big chunk of a good 3/4 ton.
  3. cat320

cat320 LawnSite Senior Member