New P/T Biz, Any Police Officers in Lawn/landscape?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by MPD, Feb 16, 2006.

1. MPD

MPD LawnSite Member

I am from Missouri and thinking about starting up a Lawn Service Business with keeping the idea of doing small to moderate Landscaping as well.

I plan on doing this part time, however I am a Police Officer that has a demanding schedule. I was wandering if there are any other part timers out there with demanding schedules who somehow make it work, or it ending up working out just fine. I currently switch every 3 weeks days and evenings, and weekends come and go as far as being off. Right now I work two other jobs that pay excellent, but mentally drain me as well.

I'd like to get some honest opinions as to how many accounts I should realistically stick to based on a schedule like mine. Police work doesn't pay out millions, but I'd like to keep my license in Law Enforcement, so quitting isn't an option in the next year or two. I will eventually make a career change. I have been on for a while and established excellent benefits along with great health coverage. My two other jobs pay above $25. an hour (police work), but are mentally draining me.

Any help from any part time workers with demanding schedules, part time workers with full time jobs/careers, or anyone from Missouri or this site with some helpful answers?

Thanks in advance.
  2. WillMowForBeer

WillMowForBeer LawnSite Member

I cant help you with the part time question but I am a police officer in central V.A. who is leaving in two weeks to start cold turkey in N.C. I dont have a lot of time invested so I'm not losing much. My wife is a stay at home mom for our 2 girls so the single PD salary isnt cutting it. Going to give it a go on my own! Good luck to you I know the mowing on the side can be a great stress relief according to some of the guys up here and who knows you may take the leap full time before you know it...