New price?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Josh18, Jun 29, 2004.

1. Josh18

Josh18 LawnSite Member
    from AL

Today, I got a letter from one of my customers asking if I would push mow her yard. This is a yard that I usually use a 48" on and I still beleive I should have quoted the yard higher. SO, do I push it to keep the account, or do I tell her it will cost more and risk losing the account? This is my first year and I only have 11 accounts because of college so one out of the eleven is a big part of my income.
  2. Del9175

Del9175 LawnSite Senior Member

It sounds like it will be a big part of your week if you have to push mow. If you don't think your making the money you need to now, you'll be making less for your time if your using a 21". If you feel you need to keep it, you should at least try to get more money. All she can say is "no".
  3. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

tell her the price significantly goes up if you use a 21"
  4. Your time is $$$$$. The more time it takes the more $$ it cost them. You had better gat that mentality now or you will be compromising more and more. Don't get into that habit.
  5. GrassBustersLawn

GrassBustersLawn LawnSite Senior Member

I don't do ANYONE with a push mower!!! Impossible to make money, in my situation (and probably any situation). I would tell her at least DOUBLE the price to push mow it. THat might shut her up. DON'T CAVE ON PRICE. You cave once, she'll think you will cave everytime! If she quits you, do what we all do, GO FIND ANOTHER CLIENT to fill her spot at a higher price!

6. Norm Al

Norm Al LawnSite Bronze Member

if you cant afford to lose the yard,,,,,well then,,,,you cant aford to lose the yard!

keep the yard till you have it replaced with somebody else!

then you can go up to her and say "maam i am going to have to replace your lawn with another lawn because ,,,,,bla bla bla"
  7. Josh18

Josh18 LawnSite Member
    from AL