New RBG came today - questions? Eric??!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mr.Ziffel, Feb 15, 2001.

1. Mr.Ziffel

Mr.Ziffel LawnSite Senior Member

My RBG2181P came this morning and I set the angle to match the factory grind of a new Dixie Chopper hi-lift blade which is what my dealer sold me to go on my new LazerZ! What I noticed is that the blade rocked when I moved it farthest away from the grinding wheel, so I drilled a couple of holes in a piece of 2" angle iron and bolted it to the front of the machine to extend the flat table area. This helped, but the outside end of the underside of the blade [farthest end away from the center hole] is not as flat as the rest of the blade, apparently because of the lifting 'wing' where the blade was bent.

Now I have a lot of experience grinding woodworking tools and even have a special low-speed, water cooled machine [Tormek] for my chisels, etc. and I believe the specialized machine is best which is why I bought the RBG [and because of ERic's recommendation of course]. I had my blades ground at the local Coast to Coast once 2 years ago and they did such a crappy job I just have done it myself with a side grinder, but with the new Exmark I've decided to put sharp blades on every 4-6 hours. The first thing I do when I grind a chisel or plane blade is flatten the back, then grind the bevel [sloping part]. The bevel is ground so it is uniform over the entire surface of the angle and then ground finer and finer, then stropped so you can't see any grinding scratches. Of course a lawnmower blade won't be ground to this degree but I believe the bevel should be uniformly ground which doesn't seem possible at this point unless I completely regrind the blade by flattening the back and basically starting over. Questions: