New rider for small mowing business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by pottstim, Jun 11, 2000.

1. pottstim

pottstim LawnSite Senior Member

Hey everyone,<br>I just became a member earlier this week, and instead of posting in here, I made the mistake of posting in the What did you start with? section of the forum. I don't guess that that part of the forum is visited too often because i only got 1 reply. LOL<br>Now I hope by posting in here, I will get more responses.<br>I'm gonna be starting a small mowing business (part time) in the spring of next year. I've just bought a used rider this week that i am working on now. This one I plan to use as a secondary rider. <br>At the first of next year, I'm going to buy a new rider. I don't have a tremendous amount of funds on tap to buy a really expensive model.<br>I was wondering if I could get some recommendations from some of you on what would be a good rider for around $2000.<br>I'm just starting out here, so anything that you guys could tell me would help out a great deal.<br>What i'm doing is picking up my equipment piece by piece. That way, I can pay cash for everything, and can avoid getting a bank loan. I have a 2000 Chevy Silverado that I bought at the first of the year, so I've got a vehicle that will tow a trailer. An aquaintance of mine has an extra trailer that he wants to sell, and i'm gonna go over to his place in the near future and check it out.<br>I also have a good friend that has a full service landscape business. He's gonna give me advice on bookkeeping and bidding jobs.<br>Anything that any of you guys can contribute would help a lot, and it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks very much :eek:)<p>Tim
  2. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE