New seed struggling ....

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by CapeWillard, Jun 17, 2008.

1. CapeWillard

CapeWillard LawnSite Member

Newbie here. I seeded (Jonathan Green Black Beauty) approx 13,000sq.ft at my home 5 weeks ago (Cape Cod, Massachusetts). The soil was decent sandy loam. I did a lot of Bobcat work so I was nervous about the site being too compacted. Because of this I tilled up the entire yard, re-raked and spread the seed w/ a broadcast spreader. I put down a little less than 100lbs of JG Black Beauty seed along w/ JG Starter Fertilizer w/ crab grass preventive. I also applied lime the same day. Germination started on day 9 and has continued slowly. Right now I am a bit disappointed as the entire yard has grass, but it is very thin and seems to be pretty weak. Also, what has come up is growing extremely slow. I don't have any blades longer than 2". I know the current condition of the lawn is due to in part to runoff and the fact the site isn't perfectly level which has created small pockets. I have an irrigation system and have kept the area moist this whole time. I have been watering up to 6 times a day (approx 8 mins each zone) until last week when I decided to cut back a bit and see if that helped. I am at a loss of what to do now. I have kept off the lawn until now b/c I am afraid if I walk on it now it will die under my feet. When I grab a blade of grass it pulls out rather easily. Should I re-seed? If so w/ the same seed or try something different? What about slicing new seed in ... will the machine tear up and kill what I already have? Should I re-apply starter fert? Any ideas? I'm at a loss of what to do here. Thanks for reading.

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

I would certainly hit HARD with starter fert. again, myself. It is overdue.

3. CapeWillard

Thanks, Joe. Would you use a starter fert w/ crab grass prev. again or should I try another type? How much do you think I should put down over 12,000sq.ft? Thanks.

4. vtec94