New spray rig...need your input please.

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by CrystalCreek, May 8, 2008.

1. CrystalCreek

CrystalCreek LawnSite Bronze Member

OK, I am a solo operator with liscense and all the trimming. I am making a new spary rig for myself. I have about 65 customers at about 5000 sq feet each. I will be installing two 50 gallon tanks on a small trailer. One tank is for non selective and the other will be for selective. Here is where I need your help. I am still undecided about pumps. I have narrowed it down to two choices. One option would be to power with a small 4 hp engine with 4 roller pump. This is a unit set up, so I would need to buy two of these. The other option I though of was an electric set up. I have found a 200 PSI 12 volt pump, about 3 GPM. It might be nice to do some early morning spraying without the engine noise. If I want with the electric set up, I would build a battery box with serveral deep cycle batterys and a hook up to the truck so they will charge while driving. The 12 volt pump was seen on Northern tools. com. Please give me some ideas and advise.

2. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

3. CrystalCreek

Thank you for the input. The reasons for my design is because I have an old trailer sitting around that I need to put into work. The trailer is 4 foot wide be 6 foot long. I like the trailer idea because it allows me to hook and go, and keep the truck bed free for fertilizer and spreader equipment. I was going to buy the tanks from northerntools for about $125 each, and the 200 foot hoses for about $300. All of this would be perminately mounted to the trailer. All I need is the pumps. I did think of lesco space saver and other small skid spreayer setups but like I said, I'm solo. I can't lift those units into the truck by myself. Also I could build the trailer setup for about $1200, verses $1600 for each skid unit. Please keep the ideas coming guys.

4. humble1