New Timer

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by LAZERLAWS, May 4, 2007.

LAZERLAWS LawnSite Member

I'm new to the lawn business here in central Florida and had a question.As I read on this forum I only see people talking about charging by the cut for residential acc. why not charge a monthly rate?

The reason I'm asking is I just started mowing this summer I only have a few acc. Two of them signed a 12 month contrat with me for $90 a month with 1/4 acre lots.I'm I cutting my self short or i'm I on the right track?
  3. AllAmericanlawn

AllAmericanlawn LawnSite Senior Member

$30 minimum per cut or your low ballin were i come from. That would be $120 a month unless you have 5 weeks in a month.
  4. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

This is where my problem with contracts begins, and ends...

There is no way you will be cutting no lawn come July-August with anywhere the frequency that you will be cutting it during spring. It just doesn't happen, at least as a rule, once the heat comes around ALL lawns go dormant, even if we stay on track with rain and a lawn is fertilized and irrigated, it still does not need weekly cutting... Nor can most lawns sustain weekly cuts, once it gets hot and dry, if you even try to keep cutting weekly you will burn and kill your lawns, and I can not see most customers going for this.

What I do see are two things: First, I see a lot of new Lco's fixing to make the same mistake I made my first year, and that is to assume that you can cut weekly the entire season. Simple fact is, you can't. You might get a few who don't realize what is going on, thou it's pretty hard to miss a big brown patch that used to be green all around your house... Either way, once the lawn is dead there is no more growth, so then comes the problem of justifying how you're cutting nothing.