1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New to Business. Act as old hand or new kid on the block?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by XOFMOT, Jun 11, 2001.

XOFMOT LawnSite Member

I have yet to have any customers, but when the time comes, how should I come across? Should I be honest and tell them I am new to the industry or should I be a "CAR SALESMAN" and just try to get the job?

2. kroll

kroll LawnSite Member

Be honest you don't have to remember so many different stories. If you tell to many you'll forget something but the person you told won't
    and one of them will bite you in the butt
  3. gogetter

gogetter Banned

I'd say be honest. It's funny, you'll actually find some people want to help you along in succeeding in your business.
    I don't pretend to know something I don't. This goes for all things, not just the lawn biz.
    Nobody likes a car salesman (sorry if there are any car salesmen on here!). And most people can tell when you're bs'ing them anyway.

Of course the best way to avoid this is to know what you're doing. And the best way to do that is to read, read, read. Take advantage of this great site. I spent hours here reading and learning.
    Also get a couple books. Ortho has some decent ones that I've bought. They're individual books on specific topics like trees, lawns, shrubs, pruning, etc. Home Depot has 'em and they are pretty cheap.

Another good book is "Starting a Home Based Lawn Business" by Owen Dell. Get the most recent edition.

Then just do the best job you can do. It feels good getting that compliment when you're done!

XOFMOT LawnSite Member

Thanks! I will follow your advice. The last thing that I want to do is to get bit in the rear!