New to business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TUCCI L&L, May 16, 2001.

1. TUCCI L&L

TUCCI L&L LawnSite Member

Hello everyone I am new to the lawn maitenance business, but have been taking care of lawns, and yards all my life. I am currently employed in the medical field but have recently been unhappy with the way things operate in that particular field. I have a few ques.
    1) As of right now I have 3 clients and want to get more but with my current job I am oncall and do not have set days, I am trying to get more clients before I completly quit what are some ideas.
    2) I am about to buy a exmark 21 metro commercial wb, is there any other mower that is up to par with that model, but not as pricey($949)? I am only doing residential as of now and will be for a while until I get growth.
    3) I am getting a business license for the city I base my co. in but do I need a license for every city I do work in?
    4) Should I get insurance right off the bat or should I wait until I build my client base? If so what do I need basic liability, or more?
    I appreciate all responses and help, thank you.

2. Atlantic Lawn

Atlantic Lawn LawnSite Senior Member
    Male, from Outer Banks NC

Yes get insurance and business license for th eareas you work in. Pay your taxes too. Buy good equipment . But most important is to keep that day job you'll need to eat while learning how tuff it can be out there.

3. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

Mower: You could get by with less but thats a very good machine.
    License: You will need one for every City, it's that way here anyway.
    Insurance: The mower price would be nothing compared to a few windows or worse yet a kid with a head injury.......don't go without it.

Lots of good info here. Be sure you do a search on old posts concerning starting up. Ask a lot of questions. Do top notch work and price your work competitively.

Lastly.....................Good Luck.........your gonna need it.:blob3:

4. TUCCI L&L