New to Landscape Business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by 3Caratz, Jun 2, 2005.

1. 3Caratz

3Caratz LawnSite Member

I need help in making an informed decision on equipment ranging from zero turns to walk behinds along with open or enclosed trailers. I live in Coram,NY on Long Island where the seasons are erratic to say the least. I have a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 P/U and was looking to buy either an enclosed or open trailer. I was assuming that because I am just starting out I would be better off getting an open trailer due to the price difference. Can someone please offer some sane advise to help a newbie make a good decision.
    Thanks for your help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

<marquee loop="infinite" bgcolor="#DDDDDF"><font color="#000000">Have a tax question? Need free business advice? Ask our CPA. Click Here </font></marquee>
    Hi 3Caratz,

How will you be storing your equipment? Can you put your trailer in a locked garage? Would it be better for you to unload it everyday or to have a locked enclosed trailer? Just some thoughts to consider.
  3. 3Caratz

3Caratz LawnSite Member

I have no problem storing equipment in my garage! I have been looking at open trailers and for the first season that would be the most reasonable. Also, all the equipment out there makes it awfully hard to choose what to buy but I am leaning towards an Exmark ZTR and possibly either a Hustler or Wright.
  4. Toy2

Toy2 LawnSite Bronze Member

Get an enclosed, you will get tried of unloading every night.....if you get home late and you have an worries, lock it up and get some zzzz' trailer and you willl regret it...
  5. Brian135

Brian135 LawnSite Member

Get an Exmark
  6. drsogr

drsogr LawnSite Bronze Member