"new To Lawn Industry And Need Info"

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by vanessa, Mar 28, 2004.

1. vanessa

vanessa LawnSite Member

Hello everyone :)

I am new to the lawn care business and don't know much but me and my husband plan on buying a business and was not sure if it was priced right, we currently sold our carpet cleaning business, and want to get into this,a lady is selling her 4 yr business for $34,000 that includes a dixie grass cutter, and a few weed machines, and 60 residential accounts, she says it makes $49,000 year and she has proof of her income tax,anyway its hard to decide if the biz is priced right, then there is another person selling one for $65.000 this includes 115 commercial/residential accounts, also includes a pick up truck and tons of tools,and makes $65,000 year.

I am so undecided about this, I mean this business seems great especially here in florida, but I am new at this and want to fidn as much info as I possibly can, let me know if you gusy knwo of any sites that would help me thanks

2. ludwiglawncare

ludwiglawncare LawnSite Member

Just my opinion, but why not buy of your own equipment, start slow, do good work, make sure it is what you want to do, and grow your business without the expense of buying accounts that may be unreasonable for you and your husband to manage or pains in the rear. Like I said, just my two pennies. Good luck no matter what you do. Neither of the two sound like they are setting the world on fire profit wise.

3. timinkc

timinkc LawnSite Member

Does he have any experience in this business?

be careful about buying clients...i've had some given to me by people going out of the biz and there's no telling if they'll stay with you or not...might buy 60 and end up with 30.

then you've just spent 49k for a $6000 mower and yards it would have cost $1000 in advertising to get yourself...