New to lawn mowing,, would like some tips

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by FredMaxwell, May 23, 2005.

1. FredMaxwell

FredMaxwell LawnSite Member
    from Midwest

Good evening there,
    Forgive me if this post is too long but I've alot of questions,

About me:

I'm just getting started in this business because I'm in a bad financial situation and I can't stand a 9-5. I love to cut grass and always have, even when I had a whole lot of money and the pay didn't matter I still went out with a pushmower and cut lawns for my own enjoyment so I figure that I may as well do something I enjoy until I'm out of this mess and hopefully this can even help me rebuild my credit and my real estate career.

Anything that helps pay the bill collectors for deletions is a good thing right now because I haven't paid anything in five months and you can't be financed to turn property over without good credit. I need to establish some good tradelines and get rid of the negatives. I have always had good credit and I'm not the type who lets things go if I can help it.

Questions:

If I am just starting out and I'm a normal guy with a truck, a couple of 12-13 horse riders and a 6.5hp LB pusher, will the big guys call me a scab and a lowball bastard and become angry and mad like Al Capone with me? I don't care if they don't like me, and I am good at becoming mad and angry myself so that's fine but I don't want to treat anyone unfairly.

I can't afford the 62" cut 24hp mowers and all of that right now.. much less those bums trying to sabotage my equipment, which wouldn't be very easy because I store it all on the back patio over here.