1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New To LawnMowing Business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by RedRockTx, Jun 18, 2005.

1. RedRockTx

RedRockTx LawnSite Member

Hey guys. I am new to the LawnMowing business and i am wanting some tips and suggestions. I live in texas in a very rural area. There are people all around me needing their 1-10 acre lots mowed. The equipment i have is..

Dayton 5Spd, 11hp rider
    Snapper 12hp 6 speed rider (not running yet)
    2 Push Mowers (3.5 and 5hp)
    1 non working weedwhacker (will run after i get fuel line)

The Dayton rider is old but very reliable. I am only 17 but have a drivers license and a truck. What suggestions do you have for me? I just mowed a womans 4 acre lot today for $350. What prices should i charge? I have 5 years of experience in lawn mowing. Thanks for your suggestions in advance guys!
  2. LHSlawnman86

LHSlawnman86 LawnSite Member
    from ohio

get as many lawns as you can then as soon as you can justify it, buy a commercial mower. never quit advertising.
  3. RedRockTx

this is the flyer i have made up to post in stores and such around the area..its a .doc file so its not pretty but if you want to see the ACTUAL file here it is:
    My Lawn Flyer

Attached Files:

4. RonB

RonB LawnSite Senior Member

if your gettin 350 fer 4 acres, your doin just fine. Don't change nothin.
  5. AMount

AMount LawnSite Member

Flyer looks good but you may wanna change "I have 5 years of experience and are very reliable and responsible." And these guys are gonna try to nickel and dime you so I'd take out the ***Prices negotiable to an extent*** part, don't open that door for them. But looks good, and I agree, if you're gettin' that kinda money, you're doin' good so far. good luck
  6. A+ Lawncare