New to pond design, looking for professional advice.

Discussion in 'Water Features' started by ABeautifulCutAboveInc., Aug 12, 2007.

1. ABeautifulCutAboveInc.

ABeautifulCutAboveInc. LawnSite Member

Hello, I'm new to pond design and construction. I would like to start a new branch of my business dealing with ponds, waterfalls ect. I'm looking for professional advice in which steps to take first. I'm young, I learn fast and have common sense. But, I need knowledge before taking on something like this. Do you professional reccommend books, classes or what. Thank you very much for your professional advice and guidence.

2. me1223

me1223 LawnSite Member

Read everything you can, there's tons of info on the web. There are classes available most places, if you want to take one I say go for it, otherwise, build one at home, but build at least one before you start doing it for a customer. There are also a variety of books on the subject some are very good and others aren't worth the paper they're printed on. I would suggest going to a bookstore and reading through some of them and picking up the best one or two.

3. ABeautifulCutAboveInc.

ABeautifulCutAboveInc. LawnSite Member

Thank you for the reply. I plan on starting one at my own house in a couple weeks. Thanks again. I'll also start checking the web.

4. lawnMaster5000

lawnMaster5000 LawnSite Senior Member

Around here there are several opportunities to go "help" build a waterscape and learn how it should be done.

Most of the time your local suppliers will be putting this on, or atleast have the information on it.

5. LTL

LTL LawnSite Member
    from Tulsa