1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

New to site

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by ajo771, Mar 1, 2009.

1. ajo771

ajo771 LawnSite Member

Hi, I'm new to the site and thought I should introduce myself.

My name is AJ. I use to own and landscape business in the thru the 90's. I am currently a project manager building roads and bridges for the State of New York, but my primary hobby in my yard. I have about 4 landscaped acres; from bog gardens and a koi pond, to shade gardens and vegetable gardens, from perennial gardens and potted annuals; and of course my pride and joy, the lawn.

For the past 5 years I have traveled 75 - 100 miles each way to work, and have often thought about getting back in the landscape business. I have a dual degree in Architecture and Landscape Architecture. A key person working for me in the 90's is looking to make a change with his current situation and it might be the time for me to get back in the game. Of course I would have to work my regular job in the beginning. A tough proposition considering I get up at 4:00 am and get home about 8:00 pm. But I missed my kids growing up and don't want to miss the rest of their lives. So another year of sacrifice now could mean changing that.

I just found this website a few days ago while searching the internet for reviews on todays commercial ZTR's. I was impressed with the amount of recent information on this site compared to the other sites I've seen. Also, seems like a reliable place for technical information.

I also enjoy motorcycling and ATVing , but I find myself in the yard more than on the motorcycle or ATV.

2. DLAWNS

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

Welcome to Lawnsite and good luck in '09 with your transition.

3. ajo771

ajo771 LawnSite Member