New to the buisness

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by rameigh, Mar 11, 2007.

1. rameigh

rameigh LawnSite Member
    from NC

Well here is my situation. I've been working as a small engine mechanic for about 5 years in a local shop in my area. I've been researching lawncare for the last year or so trieng to get a buisness plan togeather. I've got plenty of savings for my basic trailer and equipment to start with, and I already own a 98 F150 pickup. Ive decided on a 1500z 52" Ferris Zero turn along with a Toro 40" belt driven walk behind. Theres a company out of TN that offeres a package deal. It comes with a 6.5x12 Dove tail trailer, KAW Weedeater and blower, Racks and the 2 mowers described above for a little over 10,000.00. Also its out of state so I won't pay any sales tax and its close enough to pickup. I do have one commercial account i've got access to its about 40 duplexes about 1/2 mile from my house. Its a little over 2-3 acres of land all on the same road. He's been a client of mine for years ( I work on his cars) and he's willing to sign a contract for the season for his rentals. My biggest concern is learning on how to come up with pricing for the jobs. I've noticed the average in my area is about $30-35 per half acre (Trimmed and Blown). How do us new comers know whats reasonable to charge? Also what software besides quickbooks is available to this industry specific? Ive been looking at gopher but im not sure its much more efficient than quickbooks. Last concern is knowing how many jobs i can handle for a 6 day work week. Starting out im going to be a 1 man operation and if buisness grows ive got a family member willing to work as well. Any advice/tips would be great i'm still a bit hesitant to make the jump and go get my equipment. Be honest and harsh if need be any good info from vets would be great!

2. creatived

creatived LawnSite Member