1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New to the business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by pepsiman, May 14, 2006.

1. pepsiman

pepsiman LawnSite Member

This is my first year and I have 3 residential accounts that I cut on a weekly basis and a few more that are cut every week and a half to two weeks. I'm advertising in the local news papers and on the grocery store community boards. I know I need to hand out flyer's's but I just don't have time to do it with my full time job and mowing.

I started out cutting with a 21" Honda, craftsman trimmer and a broom. I just bought a Toro 36" belt drive turbo force with T-Bar controls and Stihl BG85 blower. I added a striping and mulcher kit to the mower and paid right at 3500.00 including install for the kits. I'm hoping i'm not getting in over my head. I have been turned down several times for my price being too high cutting with a 21". I'm hoping now that I have a commercial mower I can get more accounts by charging less. I have trouble getting people to pay over $35.00.

I really want to make my way through this business so I can quit my full time job and mow full time but I just can't seem to pick up that many customers. I have always had a passion for making my yard look good and the customers I have love how I take care of thier yard. Any ideas how to get more customers or things I should do would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Dogbonz

Dogbonz LawnSite Senior Member