New to the Business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by jamolloy, May 13, 2004.

1. jamolloy

jamolloy LawnSite Member

I am new to this whole business. I have a friend who does lawn care and he got me interested in starting one. I live in a quiet neighborhood with a LOT of nice residential lots.

I would like to know how to go about getting their business? The only equipment I have o use is my pushmower. I do not want to spend a whole lot of money (or none!) if I don't have to in getting started.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks
    Jason

2. Petr51488

Petr51488 LawnSite Silver Member
    from NJ

Sounded like me 3 years ago. lol. The only thing i had back then was my john deere push mower, wead wacker (trimmer) and a cheap craftsman leaf blower. That did me well for the first year, but then i got more customers and its made me realize that my blower was unreliable. Needless to say my 350.00 trimmer was stolen. So yea, a mower, trimmer and blower is all you need.

3. jamolloy

jamolloy LawnSite Member

I guess what I need to do now is go around and put flyers in peoples mailboxes to tell them about my lawncare.

4. Petr51488

Petr51488 LawnSite Silver Member
    from NJ

i think its a little late for that. lol ive been mowing allready for 2 months. try it, but putting it in mail boxes is illegal

5. billc

billc LawnSite Member

Good luck! One thing you might do is go to a home that needs to be cut, knock on the door, explain you're just starting in business and offer to do it for a reasonable price - say $20. You'll probably get some no's but a few yesses will give you practice doing someone else's lawn and you may end up with a few customers.

6. travis strecker

travis strecker LawnSite Member

i just started to and i have 7 yards weekly

exmark 21
    stihl 110rx
    stihl 110fc
    stihl br420magnum
    bt45 planting auger
    scotts mower
    redmax trimmer

7. jamolloy

jamolloy LawnSite Member