New To Zero Turns

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by DKL, May 25, 2006.

1. DKL

DKL LawnSite Member

Im new to the Lawn Care industry and i am trying to start out kind of small with a good zero turn thats not too expensive. The Zero Turns i looked at today where the 22 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Cub Cadet, and the 22 HP Swisher Zero Turn Mower. We are trying to keep the price about 3000 or so since I am just starting out. Any advice would help me tremendously.

2. 4curbappeal

4curbappeal LawnSite Senior Member

I'm sure you have some dealers around. See what they have used! I wouldn't recomend either of your choices, but see what the others say!

Good Luck!

3. 4curbappeal

I would think you could get a pretty darn nice used Dixie or Hustler for that price. They will probably have a few hrs., but check them out before you go 3k new. Just my .02!!~

4. DKL

DKL LawnSite Member

a dixie chopper? i looked at them and they seemed like a nice set up since im doing this while im going to college but i wasnt sure if they where too expensive or not, their website is hard to navigate, i looked at a jhon deer one but my brother told me to start out small then see how i like it.

5. cwlawley

cwlawley LawnSite Senior Member

Dixie Choppers and John Deere's are going to be way out of your ballpark unless you buy a really used one. Before you go and buy a zero turn consider a walk behind with a sulky. If you are going to make the investment that a zero turn brings you are going to want to make sure that you are staying in this for a while. Don't buy junk or you'll have to turn around and replace it soon.

If you decide to go with a zero turn, I run a Hustler and it is by far the best I tired.

6. DKL

DKL LawnSite Member