new trailer add-on

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by rrodgers, May 24, 2008.

1. rrodgers

rrodgers LawnSite Member

Hey guys...I am brand new to the biz and need some advice. Picked up new trailer a few days ago and need to add a box for storing trimmers, gas cans, small parts, etc. Anyhow, I know most guys use the steel boxes with the mest panels but I am thinking of building a wood box that can keep out the rain as well as be locked up when I'm away from the trailer. I think wood is lighter in weight and I'm sure it would be cheaper. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. dura to the max

dura to the max LawnSite Silver Member
    from georgia

looks are crucial in this business. the wood might be cheaper initially, but the metal w/ the mesh looks a lot more professional. anyone can "cut" a yard, i sell partly b/c i look and act professional. go w/ i nice metal box. you might do great work, but if someone sees your trailer at lunch next to mine, they might very well choose me b/c my trailer looks like a lawn trailer. im not trying to knock you at all, but looking professional is very important. if you have a nice set-up people will trust you w/ a lot more than a weekend warrior. good luck. and welcome to lawnsite.

3. thezaz

thezaz LawnSite Member

Cheaper but it only takes a seconed to get a bar under that and snap open. if you know a welder have them rig something up for you. Can always fined scrap metal. http://www.rackemmfg.com/ I get some stuff from them. And you can clame it all on taxes. I have a 6x12 and I have all my stuff locked up on racks and i know it's work but take it all off at night and inside I don't have a place to store a trailers yet. But it's your call in the end.

4. rrodgers

rrodgers LawnSite Member

I completely agree that presentation is key. That was my main reason for going with a new trailer that I could afford over a beat up used one for less.