new trimmer

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by 1999frontier, Apr 12, 2008.

1. 1999frontier

1999frontier LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I've got to buy a new trimmer today or early this coming up week and I'm needing some opinions. I had a Craftsman trimmer that I have been using for 5 years and it died yesterday. I do this part time and I only have 13 yards that I do and all are biweekly except for 3. I know I was probably one of the lucky ones to get 5 years out of a homeowners trimmer, but I was wondering if you would buy another one from sears, a husqvarna from lowes, sthil fs55r, or fs80r?

2. 1999frontier

from NC

I went to my local dealer yesterday and he was selling the fs 80r for $299.99. I called the place I bought my trailer from last year about 53 miles away and they are selling them for $249. I'm taking a road trip today.

3. DFLS

DFLS LawnSite Senior Member

My fs80r had nothing but problems. It lasted less than a year before I killed it. Get a Shinidawa with the easy to thread spool - just insert 20' of line and twist it on.

4. JTF40

JTF40 LawnSite Senior Member

Go find a Kawasaki KGT27A - the best power/weight/price ratio out there. :usflag:

5. yungman

yungman LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Calif.

Craftsman is not the worst in the world BUT you should get a real commercial one. You need one today:

1) For about $200: Husqvarna 125L in Lowes or OSH, Echo SRM211 in Home Crapo and OSH.

2) For under $300: Echo SRM230(279), SRM260($299), Huqvarna 326L(269 on sale), Redmax BCZ2401, Stihl FS80, Shindaiwa T242.

I would spent more money because it is tax deductable anyway and if you take good care of it, you can get 5 years out of it anyway.

For light weight, Husqvana 326 is hard to beat. Redmax BCZ3001S at 29.5cc, 1.7hp at 11.2lb is very good. If you are strong:weightlifter:and don't mind the weight, Honda HHT25S $349 at 13lb is supper good!