1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

New Zero Turn - Which One?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rcav8er, Oct 21, 2002.

1. rcav8er

rcav8er LawnSite Member

:dizzy: Hi Guy's , Please pardon the questions of a newbe, but I'm in the market for a new Zero Turn as I'm just getting started. I have just signed some larger accounts (4 acres +) and I'm in need of a upgrade. I have looked at the Toro 44" compact and I'm going to look at the Lesco 48" or possible larger. My question is reliability and overall reputation of these two mowers? I can't go to large with the deck as the majority of my accounts are small residential (less than 1 acre). Is anyone mulching or is that even an option with this type mower?
    Thanks in advance, this site has allready been a great help !
  2. Piedmont Lawn

Piedmont Lawn LawnSite Member

I just went through the same thing buying my first ZTM. I did some searches can came up with this, some cuss at one brand that another loves but in the end that all love commercial mowers. I went looking around at several brands eXmark, Toro, John Deere, Great Dane, Grasshopper and Gravely. I bought a Gravely because they are close to me 6 miles, they only sale Gravely. They have been in business a long time, have excellent mechanics and a large parts department plus I got a very good price. If something is wrong with it they will come to my house pick it up fix it and bring it back. Gravely is not the popular brand on this forum but several are around. Do some searches on this forum about the mowers you are looking at and you should come up with a lot of info about how users like them and problems they have had.

Look for:

Dependable reputation
    Fair price