newbie here need help picking a trimmer

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by The Intimidator, Jan 12, 2007.

1. The Intimidator

The Intimidator LawnSite Member

hey fellas I am looking for some advice on trimmers right now I have a older fs-85 that is going to need from 150-200$ worth of parts now I know what you guy's are thinking go and buy a new one the problem is the 80-85 series stihl trimmers are still selling from between 450-500$ up here. I have been considering buying a new trimmer though and would like you're guys thoughts on the subject.

option one is I can fix my old trimmer up and see if it last's me threw the season. cost to me between 150-200$

option two Buy a new stihl fs-85 I have got one quote for 420$+ tax I figure I can get it for 440$ out the door cost to me around 450$ plus I will have a parts trimmer here with alot of good parts still on it

option number three is buy one of the honda trimmers hht25sltc is the model number It has the 25cc 4 stroke engine straight shaft and I can pick it up for 380$ I retails at 490$ but I get it at cost.

My dealer says the honda is pretty good and she has not had many Major issues with them besides guy's tearing them up bye running the crap out of them and not servicing them. I keep excellent care of my equipment as It is far to valuable to tear up. I am really stuck on what to do here lol any suggestions for me I would really like to stick with one of these two trimmers as I have not heard of most of the other's you guy's run I associate echo with crap as everything I have seen with the name on it has lead to a quick death it was not pro grade stuff but it still leaves the image in you're mind. The other's you guy's will likely recommend I have never heard of or seen I get great service at my stihl/honda dealer and I would rather keep my business their because I know after the fact I will have quick friendly service should something come up thanks Dave in Ontario