Newbie here, ready for my hazing

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Desoto_Lawn_Care, May 4, 2007.

1. Desoto_Lawn_Care

Desoto_Lawn_Care LawnSite Member
    from FL

I'm a kinda young guy in my 20's, I've been doing neighbors yards and minor landscaping on the side since i was 10 and I enjoy it. I work for one of the big box home improvement stores and I'm going into the lawn care business part time, for some extra income - maybe even a full time business after awhile. I tried the school thing for awhile, but being a teacher these days just isn't worth the risk of getting shot. Not to mention becoming a police officer either.

I just bought a new home and truck so my options are very limited as far as going to a dealer and taking out a new line of credit on commercial equipment. My only option right now is to use my "big box store" credit card + employee discount on a residential mower.

I'm looking at a John Deere ZTR with a 42" deck and one cylinder 18.5 hp. Briggs & Stratton. The other is a "commercial grade" Troy-Built ZTR with a Kohler V-Twin 22 hp and a 50" deck. Both the same price. I've heard some pros and cons about both mowers. Everybody is recommending the Kohler with the V-twin but my concern is it might be too big for smaller yards in neighborhoods.

I've got a few 1/2 and 1/4 acre jobs lined up. I've already got a 6x12 utility trailer, echo trimmers, a 21" inch pushmower, various other equipment and a decent truck to pull it with. I'm not expecting to make a ton of money right off the bat. I just want to get out there, make a few bucks on the side, work my ass off and make some good impressions because I've always enjoyed doing lawn care. I want to eventually turn it into a full time business and get some better equipment along the way.

Am i going about this the right way? Please give me your input good or bad.

2. hess

hess LawnSite Member