Newbie here with commercial question

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by boxoffire, Dec 6, 2004.

1. boxoffire

boxoffire LawnSite Member

I was wondering about possibly getting a shot at a couple of businesses near my area to do their grounds maintenance (mowing, trimming, mulching, seeding, etc...) for next season. Since it's nearing the end of this year, I'm wondering if I need to start finding out about these businesses now before year end to see if they might be shopping other landscaping companies to bid on their property about now. I am new :help: and would like to get a couple if possible and don't know where to start with this process. Do you just send them a letter in the mail briefly describing who you are and what you do and give them your contact info in order that you may bid on their business? Or do you just call them or stop by and ask? I am a bit lost on this subject so please forgive me, I was just hoping some of you experienced folks could lead me in the right direction so that I might have a shot at landing a couple. I will probably do mostly residential but feel the need for at least 1 or 2 larger properties for a yearly deal so I can count on at least something solid for 05. If not I'm going to go into next year very unsure of making money that I want to make. This would be a big step for me I feel. How does it all work in this regard is what I guess I'm trying to find out. I'm not insured yet but you can bet you bottom dollar I will get it when I get anything lined up. Thanks for any input to help me out. Have a Merry Christmas everyone and a safe and Happy New Year too of coarse! :drinkup:
  2. TurfProSTL

TurfProSTL LawnSite Senior Member

Commercial, I think, is a tough nut to crack for the average newbie.