Newbie looking for information

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Vassk1, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Vassk1

Vassk1 LawnSite Member

Hey everyone. Just starting reading this forum and find it very interesting. I currently live in Conn but am thinking about moving to Florida during the next few months.

I am toying with the idea of buying a lawn cutting business but am trying to use as much due dilligence as possible. I have a four year degree in an unrelated field but understand that pay in Florida is not very lucrative. I currently bartend but do not want to do this in Florida.

I will probably be moving with about 50-70K in liquid assets. I want to buy an established business with a decent amount of accounts already in place. I would plan on building the business up to over 100K in yearly revenue. Is this feasible? This is not net income. I figure with 100K in revenue with one helper you can still make a decent living.

I know there are other factors involved like working in the heat, little to no vacation time...blah blah blah.

Any and all info will be appreciated. Please no flames.

Also note, I am not the type to step on ones toes. I believe their are enough lawns to mow to keep everyone happy. I am also not a scrub.

Thanks.

2. Mr. Magpie

Mr. Magpie LawnSite Senior Member

It would help to ask specific questions.

Florida is the mecca for lawn businesses. You will do fine.

I would be weary of buying a lawn business and starting to cut before honing your skills first. You gotta have skills. Work with another company for a month or so to learn the ins and outs, how to weedwack, edge, trim, blow, save string, keep from throwing rocks, go fast while maintaining quality, ect...... all the nitty gritty physical work.

Know the properties you will be doing, then buy the mower to suit.

That's all I got for ya right now.

3. arborist-28

arborist-28 LawnSite Member